Cityuser for the House

Elect cityuser to the House of Representatives

Hello! I am cityuser (or just “city”) and I’m running for the House of Representatives. In this state, I am a lawyer by trade. Reading and applying our laws, however, I have become increasingly interested in improving them. I enjoy writing legislation and solving the issues that arise in the process. I often give my opinion on legislative proposals, along with feedback and suggestions on how to improve them and make them clearer: even if I don’t agree with them. Driven by this interest, I’ve chosen to run for office.

Experience

Some relevant positions and experience:

• Bar certified since June 2021

• Redwood City Attorney

• Junior Partner at Float & Stamose, Attorneys at Law

• Counsel at the Firestone Civil Liberties Union (FCLU)

• Associate State Attorney (prosecutor in training)

Legislation

I wrote the Thievery Act of 2022 which, at the time of writing this, is on the House docket. Among other things, it criminalizes the theft of services (using a business’ service but refusing to pay the agreed-upon price) and theft by false pretenses (using deception to get something).

Agenda

There are three main legislative projects I want to ensure are completed by the end of my term, if I am elected.

Reform election law. The current law about elections and the electoral process is outdated and contradictory. For such an essential part of our democracy, election law is in disrepair. For example, election sponsors can add any election regulation they see fit, at any time. I don’t want to sound alarmist, but it is a crisis waiting to happen. I have assisted with preparatory work for a rework, but these efforts have unfortunately stalled. As a Representative, my goal will be to ensure that a proposal is submitted before my term is up.